Skip to content

Singing for the community …

November 8, 2015

Today I sang for the elderly residents of a local rehabilitation center.  This is far from my usual rock ‘n’ roll gigs but it happens to be one of my favorite performances I “put on” during the year.

IMG_0345

I can’t really put my finger on why I love singing for these folks but I’m sure it has something to do with being reminded of my own Grandparents.  In particular my Grandfather who loved to sing the songs we perform; the golden classics like Puttin’ On The Ritz, Lullaby Of Broadway & Top Hat.  It’s an absolute joy to watch the residents tap their feet, clap their hands and see big smiles spread across their faces.

I like to think that it has something to do with my song choice but if I’m honest it’s far more likely that they love to hear these songs being sung by 10 year olds!!  This was the schools fifth year doing this particular show and this time I dragged along four of my long-time singing students: Finley, Simone, Amelia and Alison.

singing photo

The girls are no strangers to the stage but this was a new experience for them.  Performing for a large crowd who don’t necessarily re-act the way we expect is very daunting and unnerving but they handled themselves wonderfully and the audience thoroughly enjoyed them.

I’m extremely proud of them using their talent to bring happiness to the community.  Well done girls!

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. I’m back! Back in black!! … | Joanna Finnis

Comments are closed.

