Skip to content

Songs for an elementary school choir …

August 27, 2013

DSC_3294

After reading some very sombre posts online about how choir teachers struggle to find suitable songs for their singers I thought I’d post all the songs that I have given my choir over the past 3 years.  I start off each term with a pop song (Karaoke track) and I make it clear that with the pop song comes other genres I’d like them to learn.

I try to provide the audience and give the kids something a little sassy, something funny, a show tune, a lullaby and a pop song to sing.  I give solos to 4th and 5th grades.

Please read a previous article of mine written mainly for new choir directors but my biggest piece of advice is to EDIT!!  If the kids want to sing Lady Gaga then find a tune where you can alter the words and make it work.  Take something sassy and remove provocative lyrics with fun age-appropriate words.  Move the music around so that it fits the choir and so the children can have fun.

Nothing is set in stone so make it your own …

  • Spice Up Your Life (The Spice Girls)
  • Don’t Stop (Fleetwood Mac)
  • Tomorrow (Annie)
  • Wouldn’t It Be Loverly (My Fair Lady)
  • Never Fully-dressed Without A Smile (Annie)
  • Singing In The Rain (Singin’ In The Rain)
  • Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (Chitty Chitty Bang Bang)
  • Lullaby Of Broadway (42nd Street)
  • Castle On A Cloud (Les Miserables)
  • * Forgotten Dreams (Piano: Leroy Anderson.  Melody and Lyrics: Finnis/Migdal) Forgotten Dreams Lyrics
  • Heart & Soul (Hoagy Carmichael)
  • * Suo Gan (English Lyrics)
  • Hushaby Mountain (Chitty Chitty Bang Bang)
  • Razzle Dazzle (Chicago)
  • Achy Breaky Heart (Billy Ray Cyrus)
  • I’m Forever Blowing Bubbles (John Kellette)
  • My Favorite Things (The Sound Of Music)
  • Jingle Bell Rock (Brenda Lee)
  • Ob la di – Ob la da (The Beatles)
  • ** Christmas Song (Joanna Finnis)
  • It’s All About Tonight (Pixie Lott)
  • Fireworks (Katy Perry)
  • ** Hanukkah Nights (Joanna Finnis)
  • Rudolf, The Red-Nosed Reindeer (Various)
  • Food Glorious Food (Oliver!)
  • Frosty The Snowman (Various)
  • ** Gypsy Girl (Joanna Finnis)
  • Superalifragilistricexpialidocious (Mary Poppins)
  • Sunnyside Of The Street (Willie Nelson)
  • With A Little Help From My Friends (The Beatles)
  • Beauty And The Beast (Beauty & the Beast)
  • Anything You Can Do, I Can Do Better (Annie Get Your Gun)
  • I’d Do Anything (Oliver!)
  • Walking In The Air (Aled Jones)
  • We Will Rock You (Queen)
  • * Blah Blah Blah (Gershwin)Blah Blah Blah (Lyrics by Joanna Finnis for Addison Elementary)
  • The Sun Has Got His Hat On (Me and my girl)
  • Somewhere Over The Rainbow (The Wizard Of Oz)
  • I Wan’na Be Like You (The Jungle Book)
  • Rainbow Connection (The Muppets Movie)
  • A Handful of Songs (Tommy Steele)
  • Que Sera Sera (Doris Day)
  • Do Re Mi (The Sound Of Music)
  • 42nd Street (42nd Street)
  • Good Time (Owl City)
  • Fireflies (Owl City)
  • Everybody Makes Mistakes (Miley Cyrus)
  • All That Jazz (Chicago) & *All That Jazz with age-appropriate lyrics (Finnis/Fitton)
  • Scarborough Fair (Various)
    * Song lyrics were altered/re-written.  ** An original song by Joanna Finnis

Noon Chorus

And this is just a start!!  I will post another list another time but I hope this will help some choir directors choose some fun songs for their singers to perform.  I purchase most of my sheet music from http://www.musicnotes.com and my karaoke pop tracks from iTunes.

The famous PS22 Choir is also a great source of inspiration for providing fun songs for young children.

Noon Chorus1

