Skip to content

The Star Spangled Banner

March 22, 2012

I make my singers do it all the time, poor things, so it only seems fair that once in while I put myself out there … and it’s a good reminder of how darn nervous I can get!!  Here I am singing ‘The Star Spangled Banner’ at a Stanford Woman’s soccer match.

As you can see, it was pouring with rain but luckily you can’t see my frizzy hair and mascara running down my face.  My dog died earlier that day so I wasn’t really in the mood and I can hear it in my voice … wobbly on my first note and the iPhone recording doesn’t do me any favors, nor did the rain falling into my mouth as I faced upwards towards the flag.  Excuses, excuses, I know.

However, it was an honor to sing it on Veterans Day and I received a nice compliment that “it was the first time I could understand the lyrics” from some grumpy old man.  Could that possibly be because it was sung by a Brit? 🙂  Shhh, don’t tell!!

A friend emailed me this very interesting article from the San Jose Mercury about singers trying out for the thank-less but rewarding job of singing the National Anthem at sports events.

Comments are closed.

