Skip to content

Bring It On – The Musical (Review)

January 2, 2012

I was recently invited to the opening night of ‘Bring It On, The Musical’ at the Orpheum Theatre, San Francisco.  I have to be honest and say that I didn’t know what to expect.  I had enjoyed the film when it came out in 2000 (with Kirsten Dunst) but was unaware that the film had become somewhat of a cult film among Cheer Teams.  This was apparent with the numerous Cheer Teams, including the Raiderettes,  in the audience that were shouting their cheers prior to the curtain going up.

Now, I’m easily pleased.  It doesn’t take much to entertain me which is probably why I enjoyed this musical.  While I thought the actual songs were so-so, the script and song lyrics were VERY funny.  I chuckled my way through the entire musical.  I enjoyed the characters, the dancing/cheer routines were fun to watch and the scene changes/sets were original.   The only dull moment being when the lead characters sang their obligatory love song.

My negatives are that there was not one song that jumped out at me as ‘Wow, I want to hear that again!’ and I wasn’t too impressed with the vocal talent of the lead characters however, in a world were auto-tuning is overused it’s so refreshing to hear real singing.

So, to summarize, I’m glad I saw this.  I had a great time with my friends and my cheeks hurt from laughing however the ‘Bring It On – The Musical’ album will not be making it’s way onto my iTunes play list.

For more information visit ‘Bring It On – The Musical’ at the Orpheum Theatre, San Francisco

Bring It On - The Musical (Opening Night) with Ana Picazo (left) and Joanna Finnis (middle-left)

Comments are closed.

