Skip to content

My kids ‘pop-music’ playlist

November 6, 2011

I was asked recently to create a song playlist for a kids party.  I’ll be honest and admit that in the privacy of my own home I let my children dance and sing along to pretty much any top 40 song but that’s because their still too young to understand the lyrics or subject matter.  I thought the task would be easy-peasy but trying to find ‘modern songs’ that wouldn’t offend the parents, be suitable for most cultures and appropriate for our kiddies delicate ears was much harder than I expected.

These are the songs that I feel are appropriate and are playing on my children’s playlist:

1. Raise Your Glass (Glee version)

2. Misery (Glee version)

3. Love Love (Take That)

4. Hey, Soul Sister (Train) – subject matter, in my opinion, would be very hard for kids to understand.

5. DJ (Alphabeat)

6. Fireflies (Owl City)

7. Fallling Down (Selena Gomez)

8. Dynamite (Taio Cruz)

9. Silly Love Songs (Glee) – yes I know this is an old song but Glee has made it current

10. Blackbird (Glee) – ditto above

11. Round and Round (Selena Gomez)

12. Somewhere Only We Know (Keane)

13. Lights (Ellie Goulding)

14. Starry Eyed (Ellie Goulding)

15. Firework (Katy Perry)

16. Kidz (Take That)

17. Love You Like a Love Song (Selena Gomez)

18. Absolutely Everybody (Vanessa Amorosi)

… thinking back to when we were young, I bet there were many of us who danced to ‘Relax’ (Frankie Goes To Hollywood) not having a clue what the lyrics meant and I can safely say that I wasn’t harmed by it!  … but that’s a separate topic.  Brilliant song by the way!!

Comments are closed.

